top of page
WEB_Anne & Alexis 02.jpg

LA NUIT, L'ARBRE ET LE MASQUE

ANNE BRETON

ALEXIS NIVELLE

Galerie Bacqueville is delighted to be presenting for the first time the work of Anne Breton and Alexis Nivelle, whose universes, though different, share a common attraction for the imaginary and the dreamlike through hybrid, open and enigmatic forms.

 

I took off the mask, and then I put it back on.

That way it's better.

That way I am the mask.

- Fernando Pessoa
 

Anne Breton uses drawing, collage, ceramics, textiles, brass, wax and wood. The refined yet primitive craftsmanship of her sculptures encourages the expression of raw material. The artist pays constant attention to textures, proportional relationships and the natural development of colours. The same meticulous care goes into the way she bases, hangs and places her works. The supple, ovoid shapes imagined by Anne Breton suggest, at first glance, softness and calm, but these protective volumes also conceal a dark side, nocturnal, unfathomable. Like eggs, they always seem to be inhabited by a form of latent life. Or obscurely haunted, inside.

Here and there, a growth, a mouth or a nose, emerges... In the earth, eyes sometimes hatch. And a head - or a mask - may surface unexpectedly. Whether archaic idols, contemporary sculptures or utilitarian objects, these living forms spy on us as we look at them. But what strange and caressing rituals are they intended for?

As a drawing artist, Alexis Nivelle uses simple means: mise en abîme and coloured pencils. He carefully draws empty living rooms and deserted spaces in which he stages furnishings and paintings that resemble his own... Fictional paintings, a kind of stand-in for a suspended meta-narrative, a legend invaded by ectoplasms but still at a standstill.

As a painter, he likes to depict old friends, clichés and recurring silhouettes on canvas. These silhouettes are disguised (in geometric, kinky or organic shapes) and form a small troupe. The branch, the phylactery, the square, the étroniforme, the bubble or the ball become actors who interact together, facetiously - their presence together, colourful and mute, never saying anything. Is this still and silent theatre, this theatre of the interior, also operetta theatre?

The worlds of Anne Breton and Alexis Nivelle, though singular, are interconnected and the attentive viewer is quick to perceive this. Connected by deliberate intersections and occasional formal conjunctions, of course. But also, more deeply and probably unconsciously, by belonging to the same type of sensibility. A Chtonian sensibility
(1) perhaps? Let's formulate this hypothesis… According to Jean-Louis Chanéac (an architect and painter by training), this sensibility is characterised a taste for subterranean and subaquatic worlds and an attraction for curves and free forms, hybridity and reverie. By a certain inclination, shared by our two artists, for the unbridled expression of chimeras and fantasies.

So we too can dream, and in this vein we can build up a wild genealogy, a chtonian pantheon, with some of the Great Old Ones: Hilma af Klint, Jean Arp, Eva Hesse and Ken Price - to name but a few. So many artists, adepts of a form of fundamental, intuitive research flirting with the fantastic and composing a timeless family of eccentrics. A tribe of individuals who instinctively free themselves from the shackles of instrumental reason and docile complacency towards reality to live at last, elsewhere…  In the ocean, in the night, in the Ovoid. - Élise Vaxellin

(1) As part of the "artists' counter-architecture" described by Michel Ragon, which also includes the work of Jacques Couëlle and Pierre Székely, Jean-Louis Chanéac has outlined and defended this chtonian sensibility in his writings (Jean-Louis Chanéac, Architecture interdite, Éditions du Linteau, 2005).

Group show. 30 May - 29 May 2024

Opening Tuesday 30 May 2024, 6.30pm - 9.30pm
With the presence of the artists

 

Image above :

Anne Breton, Noli me tangere, 2017 & Blow, bloom, bloow, 2019

Alexis Nivelle, Double phylactère, 2023

Photo credit : Paul Tahon

bottom of page

top of page
WEB_Anne & Alexis 02.jpg

LA NUIT, L'ARBRE ET LE MASQUE

ANNE BRETON

ALEXIS NIVELLE

La galerie Bacqueville est heureuse de présenter pour la première fois le travail d’Anne Breton et Alexis Nivelle, dont les univers, bien que différents, partagent un même attrait pour l’imaginaire et l’onirisme à travers des formes hybrides, ouvertes et énigmatiques.
 

J’ai enlevé le masque, et puis je l’ai remis.

Comme ça c’est mieux.
Comme ça je suis le masque.

- Fernando Pessoa


Anne Breton utilise pêle-mêle le dessin, le collage, la céramique, le textile, le laiton, la cire ou le bois. La facture raffinée et primitive de ses sculptures favorise l'expression de la matière brute. Une attention continuelle, que l’on devine soutenue et tendre, est portée par l’artiste aux textures, aux rapports de proportion, à l’élaboration naturelle de ses teintes. Un même soin méticuleux accompagne son travail de soclage, d’accrochage et de mise en espace. Les formes souples et ovoïdes imaginées par Anne Breton suggèrent, de prime abord, la douceur et le calme mais ces volumes protecteurs recèlent aussi une part sombre, nocturne, insondable. Comme des œufs, ils paraissent toujours habités par une forme de vie latente. Ou bien obscurément hantés, au-dedans.

Ici ou là, une excroissance, une bouche ou un nez, affleure… Dans la terre, des yeux éclosent parfois. Et une tête peut refaire surface à l’improviste — ou un masque. Idoles archaïques, sculptures contemporaines ou objets utilitaires, ces formes vivantes nous épient tandis que nous les regardons. Mais à quels rituels étranges et caressants sont-elles destinées ?

Dessinateur, Alexis Nivelle utilise des moyens simples : la mise en abîme et les crayons de couleur. Il dessine minutieusement des salons vides et des espaces désertés dans lesquels il met en scène des biens d’ameublement, ainsi que des tableaux qui ressemblent aux siens… Des peintures fictives, sortes de doublures coincées dans un méta-récit en suspens, dans une légende envahie d’ectoplasmes mais toujours au point mort.

Peintre, il aime mettre en scène sur la toile des vieux amis, des poncifs, des silhouettes récurrentes. Ces silhouettes sont déguisées (en formes géométriques, biscornues ou organiques) et constituent comme une petite troupe. La branche, le phylactère, le carré, l’étroniforme, la bulle ou la boule deviennent des acteurs qui interagissent ensemble, facétieusement – leur présence conjointe, haute en couleur et muette, ne racontant cependant jamais rien. Ce théâtre immobile et silencieux, ce théâtre intérieur donc, est-ce aussi un théâtre d’opérette ?

Les univers d’Anne Breton et d’Alexis Nivelle, bien que singuliers, sont reliés entre eux et le regardeur attentif le perçoit très rapidement. Reliés par des croisements délibérés et par des conjonctions formelles occasionnelles, bien sûr. Mais aussi, plus profondément et sans doute de façon inconsciente, par l’appartenance à un même type de sensibilité. Une sensibilité commune de type chtonienne
(1) peut-être ? Formulons cette hypothèse… Cette sensibilité se caractériserait, selon Jean-Louis Chanéac (architecte et peintre de formation), par un goût pour les mondes souterrains et subaquatiques et par un attrait pour les courbes, les formes libres, l’hybridation et la rêverie. Par une certaine inclination, également partagée par nos deux artistes, pour l’expression non bridée des chimères et des fantasmes.

On peut dès lors rêver nous aussi et échafauder, dans cette veine, une généalogie saugrenue, un panthéon chtonien, avec quelques Grands Anciens : Hilma af Klint, Jean Arp, Eva Hesse ou Ken Price – entre autres… Autant d’artistes, adeptes d’une forme de recherche fondamentale et intuitive, flirtant avec le fantastique et composant comme une famille atemporelle d’excentriques. Une tribu d’individus qui, instinctivement, se dégagent des carcans de la raison instrumentale et de la complaisance docile envers la réalité pour vivre enfin, ailleurs… Dans l’océan, dans la nuit, dans l’Ovoïde. - Élise Vaxellin



(1) S’inscrivant dans la « contre-architecture des artistes » décrite par Michel Ragon, et à laquelle se rattachent également les réalisations d’un Jacques Couëlle ou d’un Pierre Székely, Jean-Louis Chanéac a esquissé et défendu cette sensibilité de type chtonienne dans ses écrits. (Jean-Louis Chanéac, Architecture interdite, Éditions du Linteau, 2005)

 

Exposition collective. 30 mai - 29 juin 2024.
Vernissage le jeudi 30 mai 2024, 18h30 - 21h30.
En présence des artistes
.

Image ci-dessus :

Anne Breton, Noli me tangere, 2017 & Blow, bloom, bloow, 2019
Alexis Nivelle, Double phylactère, 2023
Crédit photo : Paul Tahon

 

bottom of page